Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
The City of Asbury Park is an accelerated tax sale municipality.
It is the obligation of the tax collector to collect all property taxes, sewer and other municipal charges in the year that they are due. This helps greatly reduce the reserve for uncollected taxes, helping to keep the tax levy flat.
As a courtesy, the Tax Collector mails delinquent “reminder” notices for the first 3 quarters of the year. Due to limited timing, delinquent notices are not mailed for outstanding charges as of November 10th. Information is also printed on the back of all tax bills.
To avoid the tax sale process, property owners must pay all municipal charges in full by November 10th.
Starting November 11th, any properties with delinquencies will be included in the accelerated tax sale. The date of the accelerated tax sale will be announced and is usually in mid-December. The tax sale list will be published in a local paper.
Starting November 11th, a tax sale fee of $90 to $175 is added to each delinquent account as required by state law and cannot be waived. The fee includes a 2% cost of sale charge, with the minimum $15 and maximum $100, and the cost of 3 tax sale mailings at $25 each. (N.J.S.A. 54:5-38, NJ.S.A. 54:5-26)
Show All Answers
The 2022 Tax Rate is 1.557%
Tax bills are mailed annually in June or July. Sewer bills are mailed quarterly.
Failure to receive a bill does not exempt you from paying taxes or sewer, or the interest due on delinquent taxes. If you are having problems with receiving your bills, please notify your local Post Office.
As a courtesy, the Tax Collector mails delinquent reminder notices for the first 3 quarters of the year. Due to limited timing, delinquent notices are not mailed for outstanding charges as of November 10th.
The State of New Jersey does not allow the Tax collector to acknowledge postmarks, therefore, payment must be received in Tax and Sewer Collections Office by the 10th.
The City of Asbury Park does permit a 10-day grace period. After the grace period has ended, interest reverts to the due date. Should the 10th fall on a weekend or legal holiday, you will have until the next business day to make a payment.
Yes, but payment must be applied to oldest past due amount due first.
All municipalities in New Jersey are required by law to hold annual sales of unpaid real estate taxes. By selling off these tax liens, municipalities generate revenue. Tax sales are conducted by the tax collector. At the tax sale, the title to the delinquent property itself is not sold. What is sold is a tax sale certificate which is a lien on the property. Third parties and the municipality bid on the tax sale certificates (TSC). At the conclusion of the sale, the highest bidder pays the outstanding taxes and becomes the holder of the TSC. The TSC must be recorded with the County Clerk to become a lien against the real estate.
Most tax sales occur the year after the taxes are due. In an accelerated tax sale, the sale occurs in the same year that the taxes are due.
A lien is an enforcement to collect delinquent municipal charges. To get a lien off your property, complete the Lien Redemption Request Form (PDF), and return it to the Tax Collector's Office.